Love in the time of Coronavirus

Lisa Steingold
4 min readMar 17, 2020

I’ve borrowed the title of the post from the famed book made movie “Love in the Time of Cholera”. Whilst our lives, no matter where you might be in the world currently, certainly do not represent the sentimentality of the novel, I feel that there is an aspect from the manuscript that we’d do well to meditate on. More about that later. For now I thought I’d add some thoughts regarding Life and Love in the Time of Coronavirus.

This time last week I was blissfully enjoying a holiday out in the bush unaware of what was to come. Even as we speak we have no idea what the future holds. See you for lunch tomorrow? Maybe? Maybe not depending on how things have changed.

My family and friends in Spain are currently on Lockdown, friends in London are waiting to return to South Africa, my brother-in-law is essentially out of work (as are a bunch of others I know) and for us South Africans life has changed dramatically in just a few days. Within just a week business projections have changed and in many instances stopped all together.

It’s easy to be bleak. Even if you have work and an income, the mere fact that human contact is all but banned, is bound to have an impact on us from a mental health perspective. This too shall pass, it will but how do we get through the now?

What do you want to do with this one and…

--

--

Lisa Steingold

Writer | Girl on a bicycle in search of coffee and the answers to human behaviour….